Skip navigation

Who won what

The Nobel Foundation in Stockholm has announced its 2007 awards

GloThe Nobel Foundation in Stockbe and Mail Update

The winners of this year's Nobel Prizes are being awarded in Stockholm this week.


Albert Fert of France, left, and Peter Gruenberg, 68, of Germany.

Duo shares Nobel in physics "for the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance"


Oliver Smithies of the United States, left, Sir Martin Evans of Britain and Mario Capecchi of the United States.

Three share prize for their discoveries of "principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by the use of embryonic stem cells"


Gerhard Ertl of Germany.

German wins Nobel "for his studies of chemical processes on solid surfaces"


Doris Lessing of Britain

Doris Lessing wins Nobel as an 'epicist of the female experience, who with skepticism, fire and visionary power has subjected a divided civilization to scrutiny"


Al Gore of the United States with the United Nations' Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Control

Al Gore and the IPCC win Nobel for their efforts "to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change."


Leonid Hurwicz, left, Eric Maskin and Roger Myerson of the United States.

Leonid Hurwicz, Eric Maskin and Roger Myerson win Nobel for "having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory."

Recommend this article? 231 votes

Back to top