Skip navigation

The Rookie

All articles below are available to Insider EditionInsider Edition subscribers. They can also be purchased individually on a Pay Per View basis.

News

ORR TO CROSBY: NO PENGUIN CAN MARCH TO VICTORY ALONE A hockey legend passes on his advice about being patient, SHAWNA RICHER writes in the last chapter of The Globe's series on Sid the Kid's first NHL season

Tuesday, April 25, 2006

Crosby scores a season for the ages While it was a year of setbacks for Pittsburgh, the team's star player had one of the best rookie outings in history. What's more, some say Sidney Crosby's speed and strength, timing and vision, make him unlike anyone who has come before.

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

Crosby eyes a 100-point season Whether or not he takes home the Calder Trophy, Sidney Crosby heads toward the campaign's end having made his mark as one of the greatest teenage players in NHL history, SHAWNA RICHER reports from Philadelphia

Wednesday, April 12, 2006

'Even with Mario, it was never like this' As Sidney Crosby's grasp of French grows, his fan base does too, SHAWNA RICHER reports

Monday, March 20, 2006

Crosby battles to stay in rookie race Penguins phenom has big weekend but is matched by heralded Ovechkin

Wednesday, March 15, 2006

Reflection trumps relaxation

Saturday, March 4, 2006

Crosby wins It was no contest in the season's second meeting of the NHL's rookie stars last night, SHAWNA RICHER reports from Pittsburgh. Ovechkin had his moments, but Crosby scored a career-high four points in victory

Thursday, January 26, 2006

Penguins' wild season takes yet another twist Rookie star Crosby has lost his veteran linemate, first coach, and now the team is officially up for sale, SHAWNA RICHER reports

Friday, January 20, 2006

Groaning pains afflict a passionate sportsman Sidney Crosby aims to keep his aggressive style while toning down his arguments with referees, SHAWNA RICHER writes

Monday, January 16, 2006

Crosby ready to face harsh media glare of Toronto Penguins' star nonplussed about inability to win over tough critic Don Cherry, SHAWNA RICHER writes from Pittsburgh

Monday, January 2, 2006

'That was tough' to be passed over Crosby crestfallen about missing out on Team Canada, SHAWNA RICHER says, but he knows there will be more opportunities

Thursday, December 22, 2005

A death in the 'family' Crosby mourns the firing of his first NHL coach, Eddie Olczyk, SHAWNA RICHER reports from Neville Island, Pa.

Friday, December 16, 2005

A hockey game to play, while the Great One watches from the stands Gretzky scouts rookie for Turin Olympics, SHAWNA RICHER writes from Pittsburgh

Monday, December 12, 2005

'I'm not the future any more' An aging Mario Lemieux may be rundown, but he isn't out of the game, SHAWNA RICHER writes from Pittsburgh

Monday, December 5, 2005

Crosby gets back on his feet as injured ankle still rankles Rookie is a tough player in soft skates, SHAWNA RICHER reports from Tampa

Monday, November 28, 2005

Crosby takes one on the foot

Saturday, November 26, 2005

Sid the Kid welcomes a challenger First meeting for Ovechkin, Crosby evokes memories of Gretzky-Lemieux

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

Keeping a stiff upper lip on the ice Sidney Crosby emerged bloodied, but not beaten, from one of his most defining games ever, SHAWNA RICHER writes in Pittsburgh

Friday, November 18, 2005

Crosby takes on Madison Ave.

Monday, November 7, 2005

Learning the lessons of losing Still winless, frustrated Crosby shatters stick against the boards

Tuesday, October 25, 2005

Charitable advice on winter fashion Crosby donates personal-shopping services -- and a linguistic lesson, SHAWNA RICHER reports from Pittsburgh

Thursday, October 20, 2005

You never forget your first time He shot, he scored, and his family and teammates were there to cheer him on. SHAWNA RICHER reports from Pittsburgh

Monday, October 10, 2005

Emotional Crosby breaks the ice Rookie plays with great verve in most anticipated debut in years, SHAWNA RICHER reports

Thursday, October 6, 2005

NHL gets a new star just in time Crosby will be doing more than just launching his pro career tonight, SHAWNA RICHER writes. He'll be giving the league a needed boost

Wednesday, October 5, 2005

Under the Penguins' wings As Crosby counts the days to his NHL debut, his mentors are preparing the rookie for success, SHAWNA RICHER reports from Pittsburgh

Tuesday, September 27, 2005

An assist on his first breakaway The crowd held its collective breath whenever Crosby touched the puck, SHAWNA RICHER writes

Thursday, September 22, 2005

The coming of the saviour

Saturday, September 17, 2005

Crosby only too eager to finally get on the ice

Thursday, September 15, 2005

The Can't Miss Kid is on the ice SHAWNA RICHER begins shadowing hockey superstar-in-the-making Sidney Crosby as he starts his professional career with the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Wednesday, September 14, 2005

Crosby makes it official, inks deal Young star hopes to watch and learn from his teammates

Saturday, September 10, 2005

Recommend this article? 41 votes

Back to top